International Conference on Rock Magnetism 2017

Scientific program

To ensure an open and welcoming atmosphere for discussions there are no parallel sessions during the ICRM 2017. Apart from two key-note lectures the program revolves around four sessions, each session consists of a blend of invited and contributed oral and poster presentations. All posters will be presented in a merged poster session. Abstracts can be submitted after your registration is accepted. This page will be updated with confirmed key-note and invited speakers in due time.


Key-notes: Caroline Slomp, Marine Biogeochemistry, Utrecht University.

Dr. Ben Gilbert,  Berkeley Nanogeoscience Center, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL).


Session 1. Fundamental rock magnetism

Convernors: Richard Harrison & Ann Hirt

Invited speakers: Ramon Egli, Trevor Almeida, Karl Fabian


Session 2. Sources and significance of crustal magnetic anomalies

Convenors: Suzanne McEnroe & Laurie Brown

Invited speakers: Dave Clark, Hirokuni Oda, Carmen Giana, Suzanne McEnroe


Session 3. Environmental magnetism

Convenors: Fabio Florindo & Yongxin Pan

Invited speakers: Barbara Maher, Ken Kodama


Session 4. Determining geomagnetic field behavior from terrestrial and extraterrestrial materials

Convenors: Lisa Tauxe & Nick Swanson-Hysell

Invited speakers: Josh Feinberg, Claire Nichols, Ron Shaar, Dennis Kent


Session 5. Sediment magnetization – Acquisition and preservation

Convenors: Andrew Roberts & Mark Dekkers

Invited speakers: Janna Just, Ramon Egli


Session 6. Advanced approaches to rock magnetic characterization and data analysis

Convenors: France Lagroix & Mike Jackson

Invited speakers: Dave Heslop, Richard Harrison, Ann Hirt, Nathan Church, Ioan Lascu